Tag

visalia bail bonds | Carls Bail Bonds

visalia bail bonds

Teen Marijuana Use in California

By | Bail Bonds In Visalia

Recreational marijuana is legal in California. However, that doesn’t mean that teens are allowed to partake in marijuana.

At this point, it’s legal for anyone who is over the age of 21, to grow, use, and carry marijuana in California. That age limit is important. If a person is 21 and enjoying some marijuana, they’re fine. The same isn’t true if their 19-year-old friend is doing the same thing.

The one exception to marijuana use in teenagers is if that medical marijuana can be prescribed to anyone who is at least 18 years old. That means that if an 18-, 19-, or 20-year-old has a prescription from a legit doctor, they can legally use marijuana. If a teen is prescribed medical marijuana, they must adhere to the rules laid out in the prescription. The slightest deviation could result in them facing serious legal repercussions.

California teens who are caught illegally in the possession of marijuana will face the same legal consequences they’d face if they were caught with alcohol. As long as the teen is merely in the possession of the marijuana but not using it, they will be charged with an infraction. The consequences of this particular marijuana infraction include a fine, mandatory drug education, and community service.

Teens who are caught operating a car after they have been illegally using marijuana will face the same consequences that they would had they been illegally drinking. In addition to fines and drug counseling, they will face license suspension. The more times they are caught driving while under the influence of marijuana, the more severe the legal consequences become.

At the end of the day, it’s important to make sure teenagers understand that it’s really in their best interest to wait until they are 21 before they experiment with marijuana. While they still have to be careful and make sure they don’t take so much that their ability to drive is impaired, by waiting until they’re legally able to do so, they don’t have to worry about getting into trouble for simply having marijuana in their pockets or tucked into a purse.

How old were you the first time you tried marijuana?

kings county bail bonds (4)

Bringing Gifts to Prison

By | Bail Bonds In Visalia

Just because a loved one has been sent to prison, it doesn’t mean you stop caring for them. When someone has been arrested many people feel that in addition to visits, the best way to let their loved one know that they’re still important is by sending gifts and other surprises. 

While it’s easy to understand why you would want to send gifts to your incarcerated loved one, you should know that it’s not as simple as you may think. Prison security is always a concern, the people running California’s prisons are more concerned than ever before about the possibility of drugs and other contraband being introduced to the prison system. To prevent this from happening, people are not allowed to simply send packages to the prison. 

Packages, which are referred to as quarterly packages, can only come from approved vendors. The prison will not accept any package that has been mailed directly from a friend or family member. While this makes it a little harder for you to send gifts to your loved one, it actually makes things a little easier on the prisoners. Before the California prison system flat-out banned packages that weren’t sent by approved vendors, anytime a prison received a package that contained something they weren’t allowed to have, they had to arrange to have it returned to the sender, on the prisoner’s dime.

Don’t assume that just because packages all have to come from approved vendors that it doesn’t mean you aren’t able to send anything. It simply means you have to go through the vendor. The bad news is that the list of approved vendors isn’t very long, and it doesn’t look like Amazon is on it. The 2022 list of approved prison vendors includes:

  • Access Securepak
  • 1 Stop Value Pack
  • Aramark iCare
  • Mike’s Better Shoes
  • The Vitamin Outlet
  • Union Supply Direct
  • Walkenhorst’s
  •  JPAY

For more information about what you can and can’t send your loved one while they’re incarcerated, you’ll have to speak directly to the prison.

 

 

visalia bail bonds

Rules to Remember When Renting in California

By | Bail Bonds In Visalia

If you find yourself in a position where you’re going to be renting your living space for the foreseeable future, it’s in your best interest to familiarize yourself with California’s laws regarding renting. In addition to checking out the state laws, make sure you explore the local laws since they can change from one zip code to another.

Periodic Leases

If you’re not sure how long you are renting, you and your landlord may decide that the best option is a periodic lease. Depending on the contract, this allows you to rent the space for a week, month, or year. 

If you are involved in a periodic lease, your landlord is required to give you advance notice if they won’t be renewing the lease at the end of the specified period. If you’re renting on a week-to-week basis, you’re legally entitled to 7 days’ notice. If you’re renting on a month-to-month basis, 30 days’ notice is required. You are supposed to give an equal amount of notice if you’re not planning on renewing your portion of the lease.

Breaking a Lease Early

 There are some situations where you’re legally allowed to break a lease early without having to worry about repercussions. These instances include:

  • If there’s an early termination clause in your rental agreement
  • If you’re dealing with a harassing landlord (you will have to collect proof of the harassment)
  • If the landlord has neglected their duties and the unit is no longer inhabitable
  • If a natural disaster or something else has rendered the unit uninhabitable
  • If you’re on active military duty and have been relocated

If you have to break the lease early, you will likely have to pay the landlord the remainder of the lease amount, but the landlord is required to provide you with a reasonable amount of assistance when it comes to finding a new tenant.

Evictions in California

If you’re renting, you’ll be pleased to learn that your landlord can’t suddenly evict you for no reason. Not only are they required to have a provable reason for evicting you, such as failure to pay rent or extreme property damage, but they are also required to give some advance notice.

Justifiable reasons to issue an eviction notice include:

  • The tenant has failed to pay their rent
  • The tenant has violated their lease (such as moving a pet into a non-animal-friendly apartment)
  • The lease has ended

In the instances where rent hasn’t been paid, the landlord must give the tenant a full three days to make good on their payments. Once the three days have passed and the rent still hasn’t been paid in full, the landlord can start the eviction process. 

When a lease violation prompts a landlord to consider eviction, they must give the tenant a full three days to correct the problem. If after three days, the tenant is still in violation of their lease, the landlord is free to contact the court and file a Summons Complaint for Unlawful Detainer

When the lease has expired or if there isn’t a formal rental lease in place, the landlord is free to evict the tenant, but only after they have provided a Notice to Quit. In rentals that have a month-to-month rental agreement, thirty days’ notice must be given before ending the lease. If the tenant has been living in the month-to-month rental for a full year or more, a sixty-day notice is required.

Whenever you are about to sign a new rental agreement or end a current one, it’s a good idea to review California’s rental laws

 

visalia bail bonds

Teens Need to be Smart While Partying This Halloween

By | Bail Bonds In Visalia, Carls Bail Bonds

Everyone knows that the best parties happen at Halloween. There’s something about the combination of extreme sugar, spookiness, and the strange cheerful zaniness of the season that makes the parties even more memorable. It’s why so many teens spend days learning about what Halloween parties are taking place and deciding which they’ll attend or skip.

While there’s nothing wrong with going out and having a great time at local Halloween parties, teens do need to be smart and make sure they’re not breaking any laws while they have the time of their lives. 

The first thing to remember is that parties aren’t a secret like they once were. Thanks to teens using social media sites to plan and discuss parties, it’s easy for the police to use the same social media sites to gain information about the party. If they get the impression the Halloween party is going to have a lot of drug use or underage drinking, it’s reasonable to assume that they could show up on at the party site and start making arrests.

Even if the cops don’t learn about the Halloween party via social media, if someone complains about the noise or something else that’s happening, the police will put in an appearance. While they are at the Halloween Party, they will be actively looking for intoxicated teens.

This year, like in previous years, the police and courts are not fooling around when it comes to underage drinking. It doesn’t matter that it’s Halloween and that you only had one beer to celebrate. If they catch you drinking, you will face steep consequences that will have an instant impact on your life and your immediate future.

Teens who are caught drinking at Halloween parties will:

  • Lose their driving privileges for as long as a year if they’re caught driving with anything more than a .01 blood alcohol level.
  • Be fined up to $250 (plus court costs)
  • Be required to participate in drug and alcohol counseling
  • Be required to complete 24-32 hours of community service

If you’re going to a Halloween party, it’s important that you’re aware that even if you’re not actively drinking when the police knock on the door, you could still be in trouble. Just by holding a drink in your hand, you can be charged with being in possession of alcohol while a minor

If you’re a teenager, the best way to enjoy the holiday without potentially getting into trouble with the law is to make sure to only attend alcohol-free parties.

visalia-bail-bonds

Driving Without Auto Insurance in California

By | Bail Bonds In Visalia, Carls Bail Bonds

It’s expected that if you’re going to own and operate a vehicle in California, it’s properly insured. The amount of insurance you have that covers your own car is usually left up to you, but the state requires that you at least carry limited liability insurance so anyone else who is involved in the accident is protected.

The issue of car insurance in California is addressed in Vehicle Code Section 16029.

One of the interesting things about California is that while most drivers have auto insurance, other forms of financial responsibility that are legally acceptable while operating a vehicle in California include:

  • A self-insurance certificate that’s issued by the DMV
  • A surety bond for $35,000
  • Proof of a cash deposit with the DMV of $35,000

If you’re pulled over and can’t present the traffic officer with one of these things, you are driving without insurance.

The first time you’re caught driving without insurance, you’ll receive a citation and have to pay a $100 fine. Additional fees connected to the citation mean your out-of-pocket expenses will be $450, and that’s just for not having insurance. It’s likely that whatever prompted the officer to pull you over, such as running a stop sign or speeding, will also result in a second costly infraction.

The second time you’re caught driving without insurance, the infraction increase to $200-$500, and in some cases, the additional total fees and penalty assessments can add up to as much as $2,500.

The ticket and massive penalties probably won’t be your only problem. Since an uninsured vehicle can’t operate in California, it’s highly likely that the police will have your car impounded. The only way you’ll get it back is if you pay the towing bill and impound fees. Unless you’re planning on having the vehicle towed back to your house, the impound lot will request to see your proof of insurance before the release of your vehicle.

Getting a ticket for not having auto insurance when you’re pulled over is bad, but it’s nothing compared to what happens if you’re in a car accident when you don’t have insurance. Not only will you be issued an expensive ticket, but it’s also highly likely that you’ll be named the defendant of a civil suit. Since you didn’t have any insurance at the time of the accident, if you lose the civil case, you’ll be responsible for paying the entire settlement.

Yes, car insurance is expensive and it can be hard to fit into the monthly budget, but considering the possible consequences, it’s something you should have if you’re driving.

 

 

visalia-bail-bonds

The California Privacy Rights Act is Coming

By | Bail Bonds In Visalia, Carls Bail Bonds

On January 1, 2023, the California Privacy Rights Act (CPRA) becomes fully effective. This could change things for some California businesses. 

The CPRA was originally passed by popular vote in 2021. More than 56% of the voters who took part in the November election were in favor of the new law. Concerns about privacy, identity theft, and the exploitation of personal data led to the creation of the project. The way the law stands, once it goes into effect, it will serve as a continuation of the California Consumer Privacy Act.

What the CPRA does is:

  • Create some new definitions of privacy and what is considered private information
  • Expand upon consumer rights

Creating the California Privacy Protection Agency (CPPA)

The biggest change connected to the CPRA is the CPPA. This is an agency that exists solely for the purpose of making sure that businesses are honoring the letter of the law when it comes to the rights of California’s citizens.

Once the CPRA goes into effect, California residents will be able to:

Request the correction of any inaccurate information which businesses are required to change the inaccurate information whenever commercially possible

  • To make sure the collected information is minimized as much as commercially possible
  • Be notified whenever a business has a plan to use sensitive personal information 
  • Request that the business refrain from sharing the sensitive personal information

In addition to providing California residents with some new rights, the CPRA also expanded on some of the rights created by the CPRA, rights that some residents didn’t know they were entitled to.

The expanded rights include:

  • Opt out of having their personal information shared with a third party
  • The ability to pursue a civil case against any business that shares extremely sensitive information, particularly passwords and account numbers
  • The right to see exactly what personal information the business is sharing

When the CPRA goes into effect, it will impact businesses that:

  • Have a gross annual revenue that exceeds $25 million
  • Handles the private information of at least 100,000 California residents
  • Uses the sale of private information for at least 50% of the annual revenue

It will be interesting to see if additional steps will be taken that will make it even harder for California businesses to buy and sell personal information.

visalia bail bonds

Learning How to Be Aware of Your Surroundings

By | Carls Bail Bonds

In this day and age, you can’t afford to not be aware of your surroundings. It doesn’t matter if you’re strolling around the block near your home or walking across a busy parking lot after getting groceries, you must be aware of your surroundings.

The world has become a dangerous place. Not only do you have to worry about muggers and careless people, but horror stories about people being snatched from relatively busy places and becoming a part of human trafficking are also becoming increasingly common.

Things go wrong so fast that all it takes is one moment of inattention for you to get into trouble.

Yes, many of these crimes are completely random incidents but that doesn’t mean that victims were picked at random. What often happens is that the person who commits the crime notices someone who simply isn’t paying attention to their surroundings. The person’s lack of attention makes them the perfect victim.

What does this mean to you? It means that the better you get at recognizing your surroundings, the less likely you’ll be victimized.

Eliminate Distractions

A distracted person is far more likely to attract trouble than someone who is paying attention. The number one distraction is your cell phone. Instead of scrolling through social media or answering your emails keep your phone tucked into your pocket until you are safely indoors or locked in your car.

Conversely, if you do sense trouble. It’s not a bad idea to be talking on your phone. In a loud voice, let the person you’re speaking to know what is happening, your exact location, and a description of the person who has triggered your concern. Simply hearing you provide this information is enough to make a potential assailant dismiss you as a victim.

Be Alert

When you’re walking by yourself, be alert. Keep your head up and your eyes moving. Make sure you’re looking all around you. Keep your head on a swivel. This alertness not only makes you unattractive to an assailant but also gives you time to prepare if you do see someone approaching you.

Have an Escape Route in Mind

It doesn’t matter if you’re simply out for a stroll or in a parking lot, avoid be boxed in anywhere. Always pay attention to your surroundings and know how you would get away if someone suddenly started approaching you in a sinister manner.

Be Prepared to Get Help

There is nothing wrong or shameful about going into a store and asking someone to walk you to your car. This is a far better plan than trying to be brave and potentially getting hurt.

Learning how to pay attention and to always be aware of your surroundings takes time and practice. The good news is that once you force yourself to become more aware of your surroundings and the potential dangers, it will quickly become a habit. A habit that will go a long way towards keeping you safe.

 

 

 

 

visalia bail bonds

 Staying Safe While Enjoying Dorm Life

By | Carls Bail Bonds

One of the best things about finally going to college and moving into a dorm is that not only are you free of your parent’s strict rules but you’re also in the perfect place to meet people who will become lifelong friends.

While there are many perks connected to living in a dorm, there are also some drawbacks. The first is safety. While most colleges and universities try to take as many precautions as they can and to keep all students safe, they can’t stop everything. It’s up to you to make sure you do everything in your power to stay safe while also enjoying dorm life.

Keep Your Doors Locked

Dorms foster a community vibe that makes it feel like the entire building is your home. This is a great thing but can also be dangerous. The problem is that while you might know and like everyone who lives on your floor, you don’t know who might be visiting. No matter how comfortable you are with the people who live in your dorm building, always keep your dorm room locked both when you are and aren’t in it.

You also need to get into the habit of checking the identity of anyone who knocks before you open your door. Don’t assume that everyone who raps on your door has friendly intentions.

Lock Up Your Valuables

It’s a good idea to keep a safe in your dorm room and use it to lock up your valuables, such as your laptop when you’re not using it. Locking away your valuables makes your dorm room less appealing to thieves.

Pay Attention to Your Drinks

It doesn’t matter if you’re hanging out in your room with a handful of friends, at a party, or have gone to a restaurant, pay attention to your drinks. Never leave your drink unattended. If you do have to walk away from your drink, dispose of it and get a new one. The last thing you want is to drink something that has been drugged.

Don’t Travel By Yourself, Especially at Night

It doesn’t matter if you were at a party or simply engaged in a late-night study session at the library. Don’t walk home alone. Find someone you trust to walk with you back to your dorm. Don’t ask a stranger. If no one you know can walk home with you, spend a little money and take a cab or call an Uber.

What things do you plan to do to not only make sure you enjoy dorm life but that you also stay safe while you’re at college?

tulare-county-bail-bonds

What Is Proposition 47 In California? What Does It Mean?

By | Carls Bail Bonds

The purpose of the proposed Proposition 47 is to make some changes to felony sentencing laws.

Proposition 47 officially became law in 2014. At the time it had the distinction of being one of the biggest changes to laws to alter the ability for convicted felons to receive housing, admittance into the workforce, and other issues that had previously made it impossible for them to enjoy a quality life after they served their sentence. The way this was done was by taking non-violent felony convictions and turning them into misdemeanors. The hope was that by lowering the barriers convicted felons faced when they were released from prison, they would be better able to become a useful member of society and be less likely to return to a life of crime.

When Proposition 47 became law, it was estimated that over 1 million people living in California would be able to change their non-violent felony conviction records into more socially acceptable misdemeanors.

The three broad changes the passing of Proposition 47 triggered included.

  • Turning some nonviolent theft and drug laws from felonies into misdemeanors
  • Allowing anyone currently serving time for a felony that could now be reclassifying to petition the court for a change of sentence
  • Allowing individuals who’d completed their sentence for a felony that was now considered a misdemeanor to change their criminal history

While there was a great deal of concern about what would happen once Proposition 47 became law, the impact it has had on California has been mostly positive.

Improved Public Perception

One of the biggest positive changes it made was changing the way the rest of the country perceived California’s judicial and prison situation. When California first passed the three-strikes law, many objections were raised, and several people stated that the three-strike laws proved that there was something inherently wrong with the way California treated criminals.

The passing of Proposition 47 proved to the world that California was prepared to give people a second chance as well as an opportunity at a better life.

Less Prison Overcrowding

Overcrowding in prisons has been a huge issue for California. The sheer number of people housed in the state’s prisons is not safe. While Proposition 47 hasn’t totally reversed California’s prison overcrowding situation, it has helped.

Better Criminal Rehabilitation

One of the things California lawmakers discovered after they passed the three-strike law was that tougher sentences didn’t really encourage criminal rehabilitation. In some cases, the three-strike laws seemed to make things worse.

When Proposition 47 became law, it allowed some people to be released from prison which created some room in the budget. This extra money has been used to help finance criminal rehabilitation programs.

Schools have Benefited

In 2016 a fund connected to Proposition 47 was started that helped benefit schools throughout California. The funding came in the form of grants that were designed to help reduce the number of truancy issues the schools dealt with on a daily basis. The hope is that the extra funding will decrease the dropout rate. With more children completing high school and able to enter the workforce, hopefully, petty crime rates will decrease.

Perhaps the most encouraging thing the state of California has experienced since the passing of Proposition 47 is that there hasn’t been a noticeable increase in violent crime since 2014.

visalia-bail-bonds

Protect Your Keyless Car from Thieves

By | Bail Bonds In Visalia, Carls Bail Bonds

Keyless cars are great, particularly when you’re trying to hang onto things like multiple bags of groceries, cranky toddlers, and hyper pets while you open your car. Rather than wrestling with a key and a tiny keyhole each time you need to unlock your car, all you have to do is push a button. Easy peasy!

There is one big problem connected to keyless cars. The way they are designed makes them really appealing to car thieves.

The good news is that there are some things you can do to decrease the odds of a car thief taking off in your vehicle.

Keep it Locked

Don’t assume that just because you hit the lock button, your keyless car is well and truly locked. Sometimes the locks don’t activate the first time you hit the button. Other times, you inadvertently bump the unlock button when you slide your keyless fob into your pocket or purse. Grab your door handle and give it a quick check before you walk away.
Most car thieves know that they are far more likely to be noticed and talked to if they try to jimmy a locked door open.

Instead, they go around looking for an unlocked car that they can quickly slide into and drive away.

Park in Busy, Well-lit Areas

Sure, parking at the back of a lot seems appealing. It’s certainly easier to get in and out of the parking spaces that are at the back of the lot. The problem is that car thieves look for isolated cars. The more isolated your car is, the more it appears to a car thief because they know its location makes it unlikely that anyone will notice as they break into and drive away. Always park your car in a well-lit and relatively busy location.

Pay Attention to Your Key Fob

The thing that makes keyless cars so vulnerable to car thieves is that the technology is available for car thieves to hack your key fob’s signal and override it. The most common indicators that this has happened to your key fob are:

  • There is a long delay between you pushing the button and your car locking
  • You hear the locks release as you walk away from your car

If you suspect our key fob has been compromised, immediately get into your car and drive to a distant location. Once you’re safe, arrange to get a new key fob.

Check and see if your key fob has an off/on option. If it does, keep it turned off whenever you’re not actually using it.
What steps have you taken to protect your keyless car from car thieves?

san jose bail bonds, bail bonds in san jose, fast release bail bonds, how to protect your car from car theives, how to prevent car theft, how to protect your key fob, how to protect your keyless car from theives, what are safety tips to prevent keyless car theft,

Keyless cars are the most appealing to car thieves for car theft. The good news is that there are things you can do to decrease the odds of car theft.

visalia-bail-bonds

What Is Insider Trading? When Is Insider Trading Illegal?

By | Carls Bail Bonds

Insider trading is a strange thing that many people who aren’t actively involved in stock trading and investing fail to fully understand. The average person doesn’t usually have to worry about insider trading simply because they lack the knowledge needed to benefit from it. The idea behind insider trading is that someone who has a great deal of insight into a company deliberately takes steps to alter the value of the business’s stocks specifically so they can benefit. Had the person not had special insight into the company, they would not have made the same investment choice.

One of the most common forms of insider trading involves a practice that’s called tipping. This happens when someone with inside knowledge, such as a corporate executive who knows a large merger is in the works tells a family member about the situation. This inside information, or tip, inspires the family member to invest heavily in the company. This investment is a direct violation of stock exchange laws.

A perfect example of tipping is the case of Ishan Wahi. For a time, Wahi worked for Coinbase as a product manager. During his time there, Wahi allegedly tipped his brother some information about some new cryptocurrencies. The information prompted Wahi, his brother, and a friend, to stock up on the cryptocurrencies so they could later sell them for a profit. Wahi was recently arrested for insider trading. He has been charged with wire fraud conspiracy and wire fraud.

The SEC is always on the lookout for signs of insider trading. The slightest hint that insider trading has occurred and the SEC launches an investigation. Because the SEC does most of the detective work on insider trading cases many assume that the SEC is the organization that handles the arrest and prosecution of individuals who commit insider trading but that’s not the case. While the SEC has the power to investigate an insider trading case, they lack the legal ability to make an arrest. For an arrest to occur, the SEC has to hand the results of its investigation over to the U.S. Department of Justice.

“There are two main ways to enforce insider trading laws,” Robert C. Hockett, a lawyer and law professor at Cornell University said. “Someone can decide to sue the insider and say they defrauded them and took advantage of them by selling them securities that they knew would lose value shortly after.”

Insider trading is a serious offense. It’s a federal crime. The exact sentence connected to a guilty conviction depends on how much money was involved in the situation, the exact charges that have been filed, and previous convictions. The penalties for insider trading range from fines, the loss of license, and even jail time. In some extreme situations, a person who has been convicted of insider trading could be sentenced to 20 years in federal prison.

visalia bail bonds

The Top 20 Safest Cities in California

By | Bail Bond Articles, Bail Bond in Fresno, Bail Bonds in Bakersfield, Bail Bonds in Los Angeles, Bail Bonds in Tulare, Bail Bonds In Visalia, Carls Bail Bonds, Los Angeles Bail Bonds

When people are looking to move, they always want to make sure that the place they are moving to is safe. Figuring out if a particular city is safe or not requires a lot of work, more than the average individual can do on their own, and that’s just for one city. If a person wants to compare the safety of multiple cities, they need to look at a professionally done study.

Read More

Peeping Tom Laws in California

By | Carls Bail Bonds

Peeping Tom Laws in California

F or those unaware, a peeping tom is typically a man who spies on a woman while she’s changing. What was once a fairly common scene in movies has since died off as people admitted just how creepy the act of peeping is.

The act is so despised that there are laws against peeping and spying on people. Everyone has a right to privacy, especially when a person is in the safety of their own home, or other private areas. That is why the state of California has laws against the act. If a person thinks they want to spy on someone in a private setting, they should think again. This is not a law that a person should be breaking.

California Penal Code 647

Since spying and peeping on someone is such a big deal, because it is an invasion of privacy, many states and even the federal government have enacted laws against the act. In the state of California, spying and peeping is illegal under California Penal Code (PC) 647 i& j.

PC 647 i focuses on the act of peeping while loitering. Under this law, peeping while loitering is considered delaying or lingering on someone else’s private property without reason for being there while peeking into the door or window of an inhabited building. An inhabited building is any structure that a person lives in. If a person does this, then they are guilty of breaking this law.

PC 647 j focuses on invasion of privacy. This part of the law covers a few different acts, such as:

  • Using a telescope or other device to spy on someone.
  • Secretly photographing or recording a person’s body under their clothes for the purpose of sexual gratification.
  • Secretly recording someone in a private room in order to see them in their underwear.

Committing any of these acts is a crime under this law, and can get a person into serious legal trouble.

Penalties of Peeping in California

Breaking PC 647 is seen as form of disorderly conduct, which makes it a misdemeanor offense. This means that a person will face the following consequences for a first time offense:

  • Up to 6 months in county jail.
  • A max fine of $1,000.

These are the typical penalties for this crime, provided the victim is an adult. However, if the victim of the spying is a minor, anyone under the age of 18, then the consequences are more severe. For subsequent peeping offenses, or for peeping on a minor, the consequences are:

  • Up to 1 year in county jail.
  • A max fine of $2,000.

However, despite the nature of the crime, a conviction under PC 647 does not require a person to register as a sex offender.

No One Wants to Be Spied On

No one likes to be spied on especially when they are in their underwear or are naked. Everyone has a right to privacy, especially in their own home, in a restroom, or in a changing room. This is why peeping tom laws have been enacted to try to prevent people from committing the act at all.

Anyone caught breaking these laws will face jail time, and if they continue to break the law after that, the consequences will get worse for the person. Basically, it is never a good idea to spy or peep on someone. Doing so will get a person into trouble.

What do you think about California’s peeping tom laws and their consequences? Are the consequences enough, or should they be harsher? Should peepers be required to register as sex offenders?

Tagging and Graffiti Laws Here in California

By | Carls Bail Bonds

Tagging and Graffiti Laws Here in California

Tagging and graffiti are two things that most people have seen, especially if they live in an urban area. Pretty much every large city in the country is littered with graffiti and other signs of tagging. A lot of times, these random markings can make signs unreadable, and change the look of the city for the worse. That is why most states have laws against graffiti.

California is one such state. California Penal Code (PC) 594 covers all sorts of vandalism, from breaking something to marking it up with paint or markers. While the crimes of graffiti and vandalism may seem minor to some, they are a very big deal to others. This is especially true for anyone stuck having to clean up the mess.

California Penal Code 594

PC 594 here in the state of California outlines every possible crime that could be considered vandalism and the punishments for them all. As far as the law is concerned, vandalism is considered to occur when someone maliciously defaces, damages, or destroys someone else’s property.

Vandalism can be any number of things, from

:

  • Smashing mailboxes.
  • Keying someone’s car.
  • Writing a name in wet cement.
  • Breaking someone’s fine china.

Basically, if someone messes with someone else’s stuff with the express intent of breaking or harming it, then they are guilty of vandalism. In fact, this can even be true if two people own something together, and one of them breaks the item. The other person could charge the first with vandalism in the state of California.

Penalties of Vandalism

As far as the punishments for vandalism go, they are dependent on the amount of damage done, the person’s criminal history, if they have one, and what exactly the person vandalized. For instance, vandalizing a place of worship comes with steeper consequences than simply vandalizing someone’s home.

If the amount of damage done totals less than $400, then the vandalism is a misdemeanor charge. This means that the person faces:

  • Up to 1 year in county jail.
  • A max fine of $1,000 unless the person has any prior vandalism charges, in which case the max fine is $5,000.
  • Informal probation.

If the cost of the damage is greater than $400 dollars, the prosecution can charge the crime as either a misdemeanor or as a felony. With misdemeanor vandalism charges in this case, a person faces:

  • Up to one year in county jail.
  • A max fine of $10,000, unless the cost of the damages was higher than $10,000, in which case the max fine would be $50,000.
  • Informal probation

If the cost of damages was over $400 dollars and the crime is being charged as a felony, then the person faces:

  • A jail sentence ranging from 16 months to 3 years.
  • A max fine of $10,000, unless the cost of the damages was higher than $10,000, in which case the max fine would be $50,000.
  • Informal probation.

Consequences of Graffiti in California

Graffiti can be penalized differently in California if the damage done costs less than $250. California PC’s 640.5 and 640.6 only cover the act of graffiti. These offenses come with slightly less harsh consequences, and increase in severity with subsequent offenses.

The first time someone is charged with this crime, they face an infraction level offense:

  • A max fine of $1,000.
  • Community service.

The second time someone is charged with this crime, they face a misdemeanor level offense:

  • Up to 6 months in jail.
  • A max fine of $2,000.
  • Community service.

For a third, or any subsequent offense after that, a person will face a misdemeanor level offense:

  • Up to 1 year in jail.
  • A max fine of $3,000.
  • Community service.

Don’t Damage Someone Else’s Property

Aside from the state having its own law against graffiti and vandalism as a whole, many cities have their own takes on ordinances regarding graffiti. Some cities have even prohibited minors, anyone under 18, from being in possession of graffiti tools such as cans of spray paint and permanent markers. As such parents may want to be careful with giving their children Sharpies. Some cities take that act very seriously, while others couldn’t care less.

Graffiti and vandalism are not fun to deal with, and they are not fun to look at either. That is why the state of California has laws against both vandalism and graffiti. Any person caught breaking those laws will face the consequences.

What do you think of California’s laws surrounding vandalism and graffiti? Are the consequences too steep, just right, or not harsh enough? Why is that?

Knowing Weird Laws Can Be a Benefit

By | Carls Bail Bonds

Did you know that in California, women may not drive in a housecoat, or that no vehicle without a driver may exceed 60 miles per hour? We are not pulling your leg. These are real laws that are still written in California’s law books. They are not the only weird, odd, peculiar laws this state still has today. In addition to those,

𔅐 It is illegal to spit in Burlingame, unless you are on a baseball diamond.
𔅐 Women may not wear high heels in Carmel.
𔅐 Pinball machines are outlawed in El Monte.
𔅐 Any man who has a mustache in Eureka is forbidden to kiss a woman, even if she is his girlfriend or wife.
𔅐 Anyone who wishes to purchase a wax container must be at least 18 years of age.
𔅐 In Hollywood, no one may drive over 2,000 sheep down Hollywood Boulevard.
𔅐 It is illegal to drink intoxicating cement in Indian Wells.
𔅐 Moth hunting is illegal in Los Angeles when done under a street light.
𔅐 In Norco, having a rhinoceros as a pet is allowed as long as the owner gets a $100 license first.
𔅐 Molesting butterflies is strictly prohibited in Pacific Grove.
𔅐 Dogs are not allowed to chase squirrels in the summer.
𔅐 Unless they do not mind being fined $250, San Diegans must take their Christmas lights down by February 2.
𔅐 People who are classified as “ugly” may not walk down the streets of San Francisco.
𔅐 Having more than two cats or dogs as pets is not allowed in San Jose.
𔅐 In Walnut, every child must get a special permit from the sheriff in order to wear a mask on Halloween.

If you search the Internet, you will find so many more weird laws that still exist in California and will leave you scratching your head. In fact, every state in the U.S. has their share of odd laws and it is pretty entertaining to read.

We hope you never get arrested for violating one of these wacky laws but if you do, call Carls Bail Bonds anytime. We will look past your embarrassment and bail you out of jail as soon as possible.

We can be reached online, and at (866) 855-3186.

How You Should Handle Fireworks in California

By | Carls Bail Bonds

In order to have fun and celebrate the 4th of July, you need to understand the proper safety rules. Drinking responsibly is something you practice and preach day in and day out. However, fireworks safety is something you do not see or use on a regular basis. If you do not really know the safety rules for fireworks usage, do not be ashamed, just keep reading.

First things first: fireworks are not toys and must only be handled by those who are responsible enough to know how to use them safely.

Fireworks should be used outdoors, and there should be a supply of water within easy reach. Instructions are printed on the fireworks package, so whoever is involved should read through those thoroughly before using them.

The person setting off the fireworks should not wear loose clothing, as they do not want it to get in the way and catch fire. In addition, fireworks should be used away from other people, tall objects like trees and power-lines, gas sources, and flammable material.

Every year, there are several stories on people who injured themselves, or caused damage to property, because of fireworks that were mishandled. You do not want to be one of those people.

Another thing that happens yearly is people getting citations or being arrested for violating California’s fireworks laws. Again, you do not want to be one of these people.

Those who do end up arrested for violating fireworks laws are more than likely going to be allowed to post bail, and they can do this with cash bail or a bail bond. For a bail bond, Carls Bail Bonds is the bail bond company to rely on, and they can be reached 24/7 both online, and at (866) 855-3186.

Did You Know You can be Charged with a Hit and Run Even if it’s Not Your Fault?

By | Carls Bail Bonds

In California, you can be charged with a hit and run, even if the accident was not your fault. If you are involved in an accident, you are required to give your contact information to the other driver before you leave, regardless if the accident was your fault or not.

You can be charged with a misdemeanor if you caused damage, not just to another vehicle but also to property, like a building, a window, a fence, or even another person’s pet.

You can be charged with a felony hit and run if you leave the scene without providing any contact information even though you know that the other driver and his or her passengers were unhurt. If you had passengers in your vehicle and they were injured in the hit and run, then you can be charged with the felony.

The penalties for hit and run crimes will vary based on the extent of the accident and damage, and even the kindness of the other driver. Fines for hit and runs where someone was injured can be between as much as $20,000 and prison sentences can be as long as 4 years. For hit and run crimes that only involved property damage, fines can be as high as $1,000 and jail time can be as long as 6 months. In addition, a person would likely get their license suspended or revoked for up to 6 months. As for the insurance company, they can either increase the premiums or cancel insurance altogether.

Some misdemeanor charges can be settled in a civil suit instead of criminal punishment, if the other driver agrees to it. In this case, the other driver is sparing you from the harsher punishments like jail time.

If you are ever involved in a car accident, make sure to stay on the scene and exchange contact and insurance information with the others who are involved. If there are witnesses around, get their contact information as well, in case you need them to provide eyewitness accounts. Take photos of any damage done to your vehicle, the other vehicle, and any property. Then, you can contact your insurance company and let them know you have been involved in a car accident. You want to go through the standard steps of resolving a car accident rather than fleeing the scene and suddenly making this into a felony hit and run.

Though you will need to take the next few weeks to deal with insurance companies and getting your car repaired, it is the better alternative to becoming a wanted person for a hit and run and then paying those felony consequences.

California’s Good Samaritan Law and Pets

By | Carls Bail Bonds

In California, we love our pets as much as we love our brothers and sisters, which is why we have a Good Samaritan law that makes it legal to smash a car window to save an animal. The law has been in effect for almost a year, and it is designed to protect the individual who smashed the car window from criminal charges. In order to be fully protected, the individual must remain present after smashing the window until the police arrive.

Everyone knows that a hot car is a dangerous weapon. If it is hot outside, the car is even hotter inside, and the car heats up very quickly too. Even 5 minutes inside a hot car can be deadly. For example, in 2016, on a 91 degree day in San Diego, firefighters rescued a dog from a car that was found to be 160 degrees on the inside. How did they know the inside temperature? Their thermal imaging camera.

Many other states have similar Good Samaritan laws, and some even extend their legislation to protect individuals from smashing car windows to save a human life. California does not currently have such a law, but any citizens who see a young child left alone in a hot car are encouraged to call security or the police.

It is important to remember that for the individual breaking a car window, they must stay on the scene to talk with the police. If they flee, they may lose their protection in the matter, and can be charged with vandalism.