Monthly Archives

January 2022

vaping-in-california

Vaping in California

By | Bail Bond in Fresno, Bail Bonds in Bakersfield, Bail Bonds in Kings County, Bail Bonds in Los Angeles, Bail Bonds in Tulare, Bail Bonds In Visalia, Carls Bail Bonds, Los Angeles Bail Bonds

Over the past ten or fifteen years, vaping has become extremely popular. There are several reasons for this, including the idea that vaping is cleaner, cheaper, and might be a little safer than smoking. The fact that you can get vapes in interesting flavors that simply aren’t possible with traditional cigarettes is another reason so many people have started vaping.

As vaping grows more popular in California, the state feels increasing pressure to create vaping laws. These laws are very similar to California’s smoking laws because there is a great deal of concern about the potential health risks.

While some of these vaping laws impart consumers, most are designed to crack down on the sale of e-cigs. In 2016, Governor Jerry Brown approved of legislation that required e-cigs and other vaping products to be taxed the same way tobacco products are taxed. This also meant the state was able to place more restrictions on marketing efforts and the e-cig manufacturers.

Additional taxes aren’t the only things business owners who sell vaping supplies have to worry about in California. The state has also set things up so that any business that markets e-cig and other vaping supplies has to be properly registered, which includes safety inspections. The registration fee must be paid every single year if the business wishes to continue selling e-cigs.

At this point, if you’re not 21 or older, you can’t purchase e-cigs are anything connected to vaping. The hope is that by raising the minimum age, fewer people will start vaping.

The places you’re allowed to vape are also restricted. Vapers are expected to follow the same rules as smokers. You aren’t allowed to smoke in/near government buildings, including schools. Additional places where you’re not allowed to vape include commercial warehouses, hotel lobbies, and stores. If you’re self-employed but routinely have clients in your office/home/workspace, you’re not allowed to vape there.

Getting caught vaping in an area where it’s prohibited will cost you. The fine for a first violation is $200. The next time you’re caught vaping or smoking where it’s prohibited is a $500 fine. Each time after that, you’ll be hit with a $1,000 and potentially face a Cal-OSHA fine of up to $7,000.

gambling-in-california

Gambling in California

By | Bail Bond in Fresno, Bail Bonds in Bakersfield, Bail Bonds in Kings County, Bail Bonds in Los Angeles, Bail Bonds in Tulare, Bail Bonds In Visalia, Carls Bail Bonds, Los Angeles Bail Bonds

When it comes to gambling, California lawmakers want to make sure that they’re involved in it. It’s okay to play state lotteries and to enjoy a night out at the casino. That’s all fine and dandy. What makes California lawmakers grumpy and could result in you facing criminal charges is gambling in the form of:

  • Bookmaking
  • Using a building/room that’s not properly licensed as a gambling establishment
  • Pool-selling
  • Registering bets
  • Recording illegal bets
  • Turning a blind eye (and collecting money) to the fact that you’re establishment is being used for illegal gambling

Getting caught doing any of these things could result in you facing serious criminal charges.

The issue of illegal gambling in California has been discussed in Penal Code 337 PC. The way the law is written, the prosecutor handling the case can look at the details surrounding your case, investigate how much money was involved in the illegal gambling program, and decide if they want to charge you with a misdemeanor or a felony.

California is particularly hard on anyone that they feel is acting as a bookie or who is involved in pool-selling. They are quick to crack down on both types of behavior.

Pool-selling in California is an act that takes place when you have shares/chances in a betting pool and you sell them to other people. It’s not uncommon for minor instances of pool selling to happen in workplaces/online etc, particularly during specific sporting seasons. In many cases, the small, inter-office sports pools are illegal, but the authorities rarely get involved unless the pool becomes huge or that particular pool involves a massive number of people.

Getting busted for bookkeeping is very serious. California considers your actions illegal bookkeeping when you start actively taking bets from other people. It doesn’t matter if these bets are written down or if they are exchanged orally. If the intent is there, it’s illegal. Bookkeeping (and bookies) are most commonly associated with horse racing though the action is hardly limited to that one sport.

Illegal gambling in California is one of the state’s wobbler offenses. When the prosecutor receives an illegal gambling case they look at two things, the circumstances (and amount of money) surrounding the illegal gambling activities and your criminal history. Based on these things, they decide whether they want to pursue felony or misdemeanor charges.

If you’re convicted of misdemeanor bookmaking/pool-selling you can be sentenced to one year in county jail and charged up to a $5,000 fine. A felony conviction means being sentenced to 16 months, 2 years, or three years in a state prison. The fine connected to a felony bookmaking conviction remains $5,000. In some cases, the prosecution may also pursue fraud charges.

smoking-in-your-car

Smoking in Your Car

By | Bail Bond in Fresno, Bail Bonds in Bakersfield, Bail Bonds in Kings County, Bail Bonds in Los Angeles, Bail Bonds in Tulare, Bail Bonds In Visalia, Carls Bail Bonds, Los Angeles Bail Bonds

Strictly speaking, you’re not prohibited from smoking cigarettes or vaping tobacco in your car. That doesn’t mean it’s a great idea.

The biggest issue connected to smoking while driving is the risk of you having a distracted moment. Even though it probably only takes you a split second to light your cigarette, that’s a second when your attention isn’t focused on your driving. A whole lot of things could go wrong during that moment of inattention.

Another issue is the knee-jerk reaction you may have if you drop your cigarette, particularly if the lit cigarette falls on bare skin. If you jerk your leg or arm in pain, you could slam on the brakes, shoot unexpectedly forward into the car ahead of you, or even swerve into oncoming traffic. If any of these things happen, you could get a ticket for distracted driving.

If you have a minor in the car, you’re prohibited from smoking in the vehicle. It doesn’t matter if that vehicle is moving or parked, you can’t smoke while the minor is sharing your car.

If you plan on smoking pot while in your vehicle, you should know that it’s not a good idea. Yes, you’re legally allowed to use pot for recreational purposes but the rules pertaining to pot and driving are very similar to alcohol and driving.

Current California law makes it illegal to get behind the wheel after you’ve been smoking pot. You’re also not allowed to smoke it while you’re driving. One of the interesting side effects of Proposition 64 was that it allocated more funding that went directly to the California Highway Patrol who used it to help deal with what they call “drugged drivers.”

Just like a DUI, a drugged driving offense can have a huge negative impact on your life. If you’re convicted of drugged driving in California, your sentence can include anywhere from 96 hours to 6 months in jail. You can also be fined from $390-$1000 plus court costs. You’ll be required to take a DUI prevention course and will likely have your license suspended for 6 months. That’s for your first offense.

Things are much worse the second time you’re convicted of drugged driving in California. The sentence for drugged driving a second time in California is 90 days to one year in jail. You’ll lose your license for 2 years and likely be fined about $1000.

The third and subsequent times you’re convicted are really bad. The maximum jail time you can serve stays at a single year and you’ll be fined up to $1000, but you’ll lose your license for three years.

All things considered, it’s best to wait until you have no reason to get behind the wheel before indulging in recreational marijuana.

spend-valentines-day-with-your-sweetheart-not-a-cell-mate

Spend Valentine’s Day with your Sweetheart, Not a Cell Mate

By | Bail Bond in Fresno, Bail Bonds in Bakersfield, Bail Bonds in Kings County, Bail Bonds in Los Angeles, Bail Bonds in Tulare, Carls Bail Bonds, Los Angeles Bail Bonds

If you think you got into trouble for not remembering to pick up a dozen roses for your sweetheart last Valentine’s Day, we guarantee it’s nothing compared to how mad they will be when you spend this Valentine’s Day in jail. It’s the kind of thing you’ll never stop hearing about.

While we can’t make the charges you’re facing go away, we can make your romantic life a bit easier by making sure your significant other isn’t furious with you. Thanks to our bail bonds program we can arrange things so you’re not only with your sweetheart on Valentine’s Day but also able to take them out for a nice dinner. Trust us, spending Valentine’s Day with them goes a long way to keeping your home life calm and happy.

The best way to make sure you aren’t locked away on Valentine’s Day is by contacting us. We’ve made it incredibly easy. Simply pick up the phone and call. Not only is the consultation completely free, but it’s also with a live, experienced bail bonds agent who will answer all of your questions and help you start the process. Based on the information you provide, we can determine if you’re eligible for a 20% discount, if you need a co-signer, and if we require some type of collateral.

Yes, we do require a 10% fee but we also realize that that amount simply isn’t feasible for everyone. After all, bail isn’t something most people save for. We have tried to make qualifying for a bail bond easier by creating a payment program that includes zero percent interest as well as flexible payments. Taking advantage of our payment plan not only means spending Valentine’s Day with your sweetheart, but also having some money left over for a nice gift.

We have the experience and contacts needed to quickly post your bail bond. Once the paperwork has been filled out and the court has processed the check, you’ll be free to rejoin your sweetheart so you can celebrate the most romantic of holidays. Once you’re reunited, you’ll realize that contacting Kings County Bail Bonds is one of the best decisions you’ve made!

The sooner you contact us, the sooner we’ll reunite you with your sweetheart for Valentine’s Day. For a free consultation call (866) 855-3186 to speak to an agent.

2-new-tax-laws-you-should-know-about-for-2022

2 New Tax Laws You Should Know About for 2022

By | Bail Bond in Fresno, Bail Bonds in Bakersfield, Bail Bonds in Kings County, Bail Bonds in Los Angeles, Bail Bonds in Tulare, Bail Bonds In Visalia, Carls Bail Bonds, Los Angeles Bail Bonds

Nothing stays the same and taxes are no exception. Every single year, the IRS changes things up. It’s in your best interest to take a few minutes and review the new tax laws for 2022 that will come into play when you work on your 2021 tax return so you’ll know if they’re going to significantly impact your ability to successfully file a tax return. The sooner you look at the new tax laws, the more time you have to make adjustments before you’re required to submit your return on April 15.

Depending on your situation, there are two major new tax laws that could significantly alter the results of your 2021 tax return.

Child Tax Credit

The 2022 tax law change that will have the biggest impact on most Americans is a change the IRS has made to the child tax credit. It’s anticipated that this particular change will positively impact about 90% of the Americans who currently claim a standard deduction.

One of the biggest changes in IRS history is how the IRS started sending the child tax credit to qualifying families each month. It made a big difference to some families who were struggling to make ends meet.

The issue you may not be aware of is that the monthly credit could significantly impact how much you owe when you file your taxes in 2022. Anyone who received monthly child tax credits throughout 2021 will receive a Letter 6419 from the IRS that will provide detailed information about the payments you received and help you understand how this will impact you when you file your 2021 tax return.

Changes to Charitable Donations

In the past, you had to itemize all of your charitable contributions if you were using them for a tax break. One of the big changes is that you now can deduct up to $300 in cash donations that you made to registered non-profit organizations. No itemization is needed.

While you don’t have to itemize your cash donations when filing your 2021 tax return, that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t. If you made more than $300 in cash donations, taking the time to itemize means you can claim those donations for up to 100% of their adjusted gross income. This is a huge change since the deduction has previously been limited to just 60%.

over-posting-on-social-media-while-on-vacation

Over-posting On Social Media While On Vacation?

By | Bail Bond in Fresno, Bail Bonds in Bakersfield, Bail Bonds in Kings County, Bail Bonds in Los Angeles, Bail Bonds in Tulare, Bail Bonds In Visalia, Carls Bail Bonds, Los Angeles Bail Bonds

Posting pics on social media has become synonymous with traveling and vacationing. We love to show our friends and family the cool places we’re visiting, the delicious food we’re eating, and overall, all the fun we’re having while they are stuck at work. You may have so many photos to choose from to post, but make sure you choose wisely. You want to look good and you want that great shot that will get the most likes, but you also want to make sure you don’t accidentally post a photo that shows you doing something illegal (that you may or may not know was illegal).

The police can actually use your social media against you. For example, if you posted a photo of you feeding a cute, furry, wild animal, that might seem harmless. However, it may actually be illegal for humans to feed such animals, let alone be so close to them. Or maybe you posted a photo of you on a cool lookout spot that is actually on private property and thus you were trespassing. There are all kinds of scenarios that you could unknowingly (or knowingly) get yourself into. And when you put it on Instagram and Facebook, then you might get into more trouble.

We don’t want you to get arrested while on vacation (or when you get back) so just make sure you know what you can and cannot do in the places you’ll be visiting. If you or someone you know is arrested within California borders then Carl’s Bail Bonds in Kings County can definitely help with an affordable and fast bail bond. Talk to one of our representatives anytime online or on the phone by dialing (866) 855-3186.

writing-bad-checks-in-california

Writing Bad Checks in California

By | Bail Bond in Fresno, Bail Bonds in Bakersfield, Bail Bonds in Kings County, Bail Bonds in Los Angeles, Bail Bonds in Tulare, Bail Bonds In Visalia, Carls Bail Bonds, Los Angeles Bail Bonds

We’ve all had a situation where we didn’t have as much money in our accounts as we thought we did. This can result in a bounced check. As soon as we find out about our mistake we contact the people/business and banks involved in the issue and try to resolve the matter as quickly as possible. Resolving the matter not only usually means covering the original cost with a good check, but also paying some substantial bank overdraft fees.

That situation is completely different from cases that involve writing bad checks. What sets writing an accidental bad check apart from writing a bad check which results in you facing criminal charges is your knowledge about the amount of money you had in the bank at the time you were writing the check.

Making a mistake about the amount of money you have in your account is not a crime in California. Writing a check when you know you don’t have enough money to cover it is a criminal act and will likely be prosecuted.

Cases involving bad checks have changed during the past twenty years. They have actually become harder to defend. In the past, it was believable that a person might think that they had 200 dollars in their checking account when there was only $100 available. Often this happened when they had forgotten about another check they’d written or when a deposit hadn’t yet cleared. These days, banks have mobile apps that allow clients to check exactly how much money is in the checking account at any time of the day. The ability to instantly check the amount of funds available makes it harder to claim ignorance.

Writing bad checks is a wobbler offense. Whether the matter is treated as a misdemeanor or felony depends on the size of the check you wrote. If the amount is more than $950, the case becomes a felony.

A misdemeanor conviction for writing bad checks in California carries a maximum sentence of a year in a county jail and/or a $1,000 fine. The maximum sentence for the felony conviction of this crime is three years in jail and/or a $10,000 fine. It isn’t unusual for community service and probation to be part of the sentence in these types of cases.

Criminal charges for writing bad checks might be only part of your legal headaches. In these situations, the victim will often file charges in civil court where they can not only seek restitution for the entire amount of the bad check as well as an additional $1,500.

brake-checking-in-california

Brake Checking in California

By | Bail Bond in Fresno, Bail Bonds in Bakersfield, Bail Bonds in Kings County, Bail Bonds in Los Angeles, Bail Bonds in Tulare, Bail Bonds In Visalia, Carls Bail Bonds, Los Angeles Bail Bonds

“Brake check” is a term that refers to the act of someone slamming hard on their brakes while they’re driving in front of another driver, forcing the other driver to either slam on their own brakes or swerve out of the way. It’s often done because the driver of the lead vehicle feels the second car is following too closely, or tailgating, them. The hope is that slamming on the brakes will convince the other driver to back off. It’s important to understand that this isn’t just a light tap of the brakes. During a brake check, the driver exerts enough pressure on the brake pedal to quickly and significantly slow their vehicle. They usually hit the gas pedal equally hard and speed off.

The interesting thing about brake checks is that both brake checking and tailgating are considered to be examples of aggressive or reckless driving. In this particular incident, both drivers can be issued a ticket. Both actions can lead to a serious accident.

There are a couple of different reasons people tailgate. The first is because the driver is impatient and hopes that they can encourage the other driver to go faster. In this scenario, tailgating is a form of road rage and aggressive driving. The second most common reason for tailgating is because the driver isn’t paying attention or doesn’t realize just how close they’re getting to the other car’s back bumper. In this instance, tailgating is a perfect example of distracted or careless driving.

If a police officer observes you doing a brake check, they can nail you for reckless driving. Don’t assume that it will merely be a ticket and a fine. Depending on the circumstances, your brake check could result in you gaining a criminal record, possibly losing your driver’s license, and even ending up in a jail cell.

California’s current reckless driving laws are designed in a way that your brake check could result in your getting fined $145-$1,000 as well as being issued a misdemeanor charge. If you’re convicted, you could be sentenced to 5-90 days in jail. Two points will be added to your driving record. And that’s just for your first act of reckless driving.

If your brake check results in someone getting hurt or killed, the penalties are more severe and could include the suspension of your driver’s license. It’s also likely that the injured party will file a civil case against you.

The next time you get tired of being tailgated, take a deep breath and keep your foot off the brake pedal. Remind yourself that it’s far better to be irritated than to do something that could cost you both your freedom and your means of transportation.

mug-shots-decorating-social-media-feeds-not-anymore

Mug Shots Decorating Social Media Feeds? Not Anymore!

By | Bail Bond in Fresno, Bail Bonds in Bakersfield, Bail Bonds in Kings County, Bail Bonds in Los Angeles, Bail Bonds in Tulare, Bail Bonds In Visalia, Carls Bail Bonds, Los Angeles Bail Bonds

Law enforcement agencies throughout the United States have discovered the importance of social media marketing. It’s a great way to stay in touch with the communities they trust, to gain some extra funding, and even get some important leads on open cases.

Posting mug shots on social media sites is one of the things some law enforcement agencies have done to generate extra social media content. This is a practice that California police departments will not be doing in 2022.

At the start of 2022, a new law went into effect that doesn’t straight up ban police officers from posting mug shots on the department’s social media accounts, but it does significantly limit which mug shots can be posted.

The law that restricts the mug shots police departments can post on social media is AB 1475. Governor Newsom signed it in July 2021. It goes into effect at the start of 2022.

It’s important to understand that the new law doesn’t prohibit officers from turning to social media and posting images of suspects while they are investigating a case. The only thing that changes is the police force can’t post the mug shot they took after arresting someone for a non-violent crime if that person hasn’t yet been convicted.

The reason behind the new law is simple. Some people were concerned that by posting the mug shots of recently arrested suspects who hadn’t yet been convicted of a crime, the police department was creating an environment that was full of presumed guilt. Not only would this presumed guilt make it more complicated to find an impartial jury, but it could also negatively impact the overall quality of someone’s life. All it takes is for friends, family members, and even employers to see the mug shot on social media for them to start thinking that someone is guilty of a crime that they’ve been arrested for but not officially convicted of. This type of situation can cost people valuable relationships and might even lead to them losing their job or having a difficult time finding a home.

It’s important to realize that the way AB 1475 was written still allows police departments to use social media and to post information and mug shots of fugitives, suspects the department believes to be a risk to society, and anyone who is suspected and has been arrested for committing a violent crime.

It will be interesting to see if any more laws that dictate how the police can and can’t use social media are created in the future.

look-for-mail-in-ballots-this-fall

Look for Mail-in Ballots This Fall

By | Bail Bond in Fresno, Bail Bonds in Bakersfield, Bail Bonds in Kings County, Bail Bonds in Los Angeles, Bail Bonds in Tulare, Bail Bonds In Visalia, Carls Bail Bonds, Los Angeles Bail Bonds

Few of us will forget the debate about the mail-in ballots and absentee voting that took place in the months leading up to the 2020 election. It’s a topic that will likely come up again as the 2024 election draws nearer.

Starting this year, registered California voters will receive a mail-in ballot leading up to any election. That is every single voter, not just the ones who request a mail-in ballot.

The new law states that:

    “This bill would extend the requirements to mail a ballot to every registered voter to all elections and apply them to all local elections officials. This bill would require a vote-by-mail tracking system to be accessible to voters with disabilities. The bill would also make various conforming and technical changes.

    Existing law requires county elections officials to permit voters with a disability, and military or overseas voters, to cast a ballot using a certified remote accessible vote by mail system, and required county elections officials to permit any voter to cast a ballot using a certified remote accessible vote by mail system for the November 3, 2020, statewide general election.”

Sending mail-in ballots to all registered voters isn’t the only thing this law changes. It also lays out the groundwork for submitting the ballot. AB-37 requires that each voting district where mail-in voting is prohibited (for whatever reason) that the jurisdiction must provide a minimum of two drop boxes for ballots per every 30,000 registered voters.

The same law also addresses the issue of counting ballots that have either been mailed in or placed in a dropbox before the actual election day. Registered election officials will now be able to start counting the early votes sooner, rather than having to wait until election day. The law allows the counting and processing to begin on the 29th day before the official election. The hope is that this will allow official announcements to happen sooner, giving candidates more time to contest close calls.

It’s important to understand that even though you’ll receive a mail-in ballot before the next election, you aren’t obligated to use it. You are still free to go to the polls and cast your vote in person if that’s the method you prefer.

cycling-under-the-influence

Cycling Under the Influence

By | Bail Bond in Fresno, Bail Bonds in Bakersfield, Bail Bonds in Kings County, Bail Bonds in Los Angeles, Bail Bonds in Tulare, Bail Bonds In Visalia, Carls Bail Bonds, Los Angeles Bail Bonds

We hear a great deal about the dangers of drinking and driving. We understand that a single DUI can have a horrible, long-term impact on our lives. As a result, many of us take steps to avoid even the possibility of getting behind the wheel if we think there’s a chance we’ll have a little too much to drink while we’re out on the town.

One of the ways many of us try to avoid a potential DUI charge is hopping on our bicycle and riding it to the nearest bar. We figure that since we’re not even bringing our car, we can drink as much as we want and cycle home later without having to worry about getting arrested.

The only problem with this plan is that if you’re drunk and spotted by a local police officer, you could be charged with cycling under the influence.

Most cases of cycling under the influence appear in court because the person on the bike had the bad judgment to try riding their bike on a local highway, something you can’t do even if you are sober. The reason is that it’s simply too dangerous. One moment of inattention or a single bad judgment call and you could find yourself in the middle of a serious accident.

There are some cases where a person was arrested for cycling under the influence because a patrol officer noticed that the cyclist was acting erratically. Once again, the concern is that you’ll do something that will result in an accident. Biking erratically, weaving, or trying to bike down the middle of the road will alert an officer to the fact that you’re under the influence.

While being charged with biking under the influence isn’t fun, it’s not as bad as getting a DUI. As long as you didn’t cause an accident, you won’t have to serve any jail time. The maximum sentence is a $250 fine.

While you won’t serve jail time, this is a misdemeanor offense, not an infraction, so it could turn up on a background check. In addition to being charged with cycling under the influence, there’s also a good chance that you’ll also face a public intoxication charge.

The fact that you can be charged with cycling under the influence is another reason why you should either have a designated driver or decide to stay home whenever you feel an urge to get drunk and have a good time.

do-i-have-to-report-a-california-traffic-accident

Do I Have to Report a California Traffic Accident?

By | Bail Bond in Fresno, Bail Bonds in Bakersfield, Bail Bonds in Kings County, Bail Bonds in Los Angeles, Bail Bonds in Tulare, Bail Bonds In Visalia, Carls Bail Bonds, Los Angeles Bail Bonds

Most of us have a weird, knee-jerk reaction to traffic accidents. We like to pretend we don’t know about them and try to put as much distance between ourselves and the traffic accident as we possibly can. This is our reaction whether we’re involved in the accident or if we’ve simply witnessed one.

When a traffic accident occurs, many of us wonder if we actually have to report it to the police.

If you’re driving any of the vehicles involved in a car accident, you are legally required to report the accident to the police. Technically, you have 24 hours to complete a written report about the incident. All things considered, it’s in your best interest to report the accident as soon as it happens. There are several reasons for this:

  • The responding officer will handle writing the written report for you
  • Filing the insurance claim will be easier
  • The events leading up to the cause of the accident is fresh in everyone’s mins
  • You won’t have to worry about being labeled a hit and run driver

In addition to letting the police know about the accident, you need to let your car insurance company know about the accident as quickly as possible. Not only will this put you in a position to receive your claim money as quickly as possible, but if an investigation is needed, they will be able to talk to everyone involved while the details of the accident remain fresh in everyone’s mind.

But what if you merely witnessed a car accident but weren’t directly involved with it?

This is a little bit trickier. Technically, you should stop. It’s in your best interest to make sure that everyone who was involved in the accident doesn’t need any type of medical attention and you should also plan on serving as a witness to the incident.

While morally and ethically you should stop after witnessing an accident, in California, you’re not legally required to do anything. You can keep driving. That being said. If additional information is needed about the accident or if the police discover that your actions impacted the accident it’s possible that they will figure out a way to locate you (they can use traffic cams to get your license plate) and will eventually contact you.

How do you respond when you are either involved with or witness a California car accident?