Monthly Archives

February 2022

californias-most-unusual-driving-laws

California’s Most Unusual Driving Laws

By | Bail Bond in Fresno, Bail Bonds in Bakersfield, Bail Bonds in Kings County, Bail Bonds in Los Angeles, Bail Bonds in Tulare, Bail Bonds In Visalia, Los Angeles Bail Bonds

Every state has a few strange laws that cause people to scratch their heads. California is not an exception.

There are three very strange driving laws that could impact you no matter where you are in California.

The first odd California driving law is that you aren’t allowed to go faster than 60 miles per hour in an autonomous vehicle. It’s unclear what prompted this law, though I suspect it might have been created to prevent children from driving remote-controlled cars on the highway. At the time the California driving law was created, it’s unlikely that the group of lawmakers who passed it had any idea that Teslas and other autonomous vehicles would soon be a common sight in California. As the popularity of autonomous vehicles increases, it’s highly likely that lawmakers will move to strike this particular law from California’s books.

The second strange driving law that carries throughout the entire state is that women can’t drive while wearing housecoats. Housecoats is an old-fashioned term that means night attire. When you stop and think about it, it’s pretty funny that there was a time when men were worried about women driving while wearing a dressing gown and today it’s common to see people still wearing pajamas while choosing produce at the supermarket.

If you’re pulled over while wearing night attire and the officer decides to enforce this strange law, the ticket you’re issued will include some steep fines.

The third California driving law that is enforceable throughout the entire state is that you’re not allowed to hunt from your car unless you’re hunting whales. It’s unclear why lawmakers felt it was permissible to hunt whales while you were driving. While the law states that you can whale hunt from your car, you should know that it’s a bad idea. California passed a law prohibiting whale hunting in 1971.

While these are the state laws that impact drivers no matter where you are in California, you should know that many California cities also have their own strange driving laws. For example, in Glendale, you’re not allowed to jump out of a car that’s traveling 65 miles per hour.

The good news is that provided you drive sensibly, you shouldn’t have any trouble traveling in California. Patrol officers are less concerned about whether you’re wearing pajamas while driving and more worried about you texting while behind the wheel, driving recklessly, and driving while intoxicated.

What is the strangest driving law you’ve encountered?

you-can-still-get-your-drinks-to-go

You Can Still Get Your Drinks To-Go

By | Bail Bond in Fresno, Bail Bonds in Bakersfield, Bail Bonds in Kings County, Bail Bonds in Los Angeles, Bail Bonds in Tulare, Bail Bonds In Visalia, Carls Bail Bonds, Los Angeles Bail Bonds

For as long as most of us can remember if you wanted to go out for a drink, you had to stay at the bar until you were finished. You weren’t allowed to order a drink to go.

During the 2019 pandemic, things changed. Bar and restaurant owners struggled to keep their businesses afloat while their regular patrons worked hard to obey social distancing and self-quarantining laws and stayed home.

The problem prompted lawmakers to take an unexpected step. As the pandemic continued to drag on, they passed a law that made it legal to order a drink to go. The catch was that this was a temporary law, designed to get people through the pandemic.

If you loved ordering your favorite drink from a bar and then taking it home so you could enjoy it in your own home, you’ll be delighted to know you can still do this. The recent passing of Senate Bill 389 allows some bars and restaurants to send customers home with wine and cocktails. Best of all, this law will remain in effect for the next five years. It’s likely that in five years, lawmakers will evaluate the situation and if it’s going well, they could decide to allow to-go adult beverages to continue.

Just because you can order your favorite wine and cocktail to-go, you’re free to do whatever you want with the drink. You still aren’t allowed to drive while intoxicated. Nor are you allowed to drink while you’re driving. Getting caught for either of these things will result in you getting into legal trouble.

You already know about California’s drunk driving laws, but you’re probably less aware of the state’s open container laws. In California, you aren’t allowed to consume alcohol or marijuana while you’re in a car. It doesn’t matter if you’re a driver or a passenger, you can’t have an open container in the vehicle.

If you are caught with an open container in your car, you will be hit with an infraction. The fine ranges from $100 to $250. If the drivers or passengers are underage, the repercussions of the open container is could result in six months in jail or a $1,000 fine.

Do you think that continuing the adult beverage to-go option is a good deal? Do you think that in five years lawmakers will choose to extend the law?

can-you-sleep-in-your-car-in-california

Can you Sleep in Your Car in California?

By | Bail Bond in Fresno, Bail Bonds in Bakersfield, Bail Bonds in Kings County, Bail Bonds in Los Angeles, Bail Bonds in Tulare, Bail Bonds In Visalia, Carls Bail Bonds, Los Angeles Bail Bonds

The increasingly rising cost of renting an apartment in California has created an unusual trend. Instead of spending more than half their paycheck on rent each month, some people have taken to living in their cars. This is particularly common in the summer when the weather is warm enough to make life without a heater pleasant.

The increasing number of people who are sleeping in their cars has prompted many cities to start enforcing laws. Some California cities have laws that specifically address the issue of sleeping in your car.

In San Francisco, you’re not allowed to sleep in your car overnight. If you’re caught sleeping in your car, you could be fined up to $1,000. Despite the steep fine, many people continue to live out of their cars in the city. They can skirt the law by parking in a different location each night, making sure they aren’t parked in a place that’s going to attract attention and prompt people to call the police, and they don’t announce that they’re living in their car.

Los Angeles has a law that prohibits people from dwelling in their cars. When you read through the law, you’ll see that it specifically mentions living in your car between the hours of 9 pm and 6 am when your car is parked in a residential neighborhood or when it’s within 500 feet of a school, park, or government building.

If you’re interested in saving money by living in your car, there are a few things you should know.

First, safety is important. Don’t advertise that you’re living in your car. Always park in areas with a low crime rate. Keep your doors locked. Be prepared to defend yourself if you hear someone trying to break into your vehicle.

Before moving into your car, set up a PO box so that you have a place for your mail. You should also consider joining a gym since that will provide you with shower facilities.

Since there is always a chance you could be caught living in your car and fined, make sure you set aside enough money to cover the fine and still have enough money left to live on.

Have you ever spent time living in your car? If so what are your tips and suggestions for making it a successful living situation?

california-cracking-down-on-emotional-support-dogs

California Cracking Down on Emotional Support Dogs

By | Bail Bond in Fresno, Bail Bonds in Bakersfield, Bail Bonds in Kings County, Bail Bonds in Los Angeles, Bail Bonds in Tulare, Bail Bonds In Visalia, Carls Bail Bonds, Los Angeles Bail Bonds

Emotional support dogs were never intended to take the place of service animals. When the idea of emotional support dogs (and other pets) was first introduced, it was to provide people who suffered from anxiety and loneliness with a companion at home. The term was first coined to help people who needed a pet to improve their quality of life to work around housing restrictions.

Emotional support pets started out as a really good idea. The problem is that people have taken it too far. Rather than simply using them at home, they have started bringing them to stores, doctor’s appointments, and on airplanes. If anyone questions whether they can bring the dog into the facility, the person simply states that the animal is a service animal and allowed to go anywhere.

Things are changing in California.

The law went into effect at the start of January 2022. It’s designed to create a bigger distinction between service animals and emotional support animals. Not only will it impact pet owners who are trying to pass their emotional support pet off as a service animal, but it also takes a swipe at the business that fraudulently sells ESA-related certifications and merchandise.

One of the good things about the law is that it provides a specific definition of what an emotional support animal is. As of 2022, in California, an emotional support pet is:

    “a dog or animal that is not trained to do any specific action related to one’s disability. Instead, the owner derives therapeutic benefits simply through the animal’s companionship. An individual emanates calmness, safety, and an improved sense of well-being through the animal’s presence.”

Read More